NGC Registry Updated NGC Registry

Ecuador - "Ayora"

Category: Ecuador
Set Type: Sucre, Struck at Philadelphia, 1928-1934, Mint State
Owner: coin928
Last Modified: 12/18/2018
Views: 273

Rank: 2
Score: 487
Leading by: 300
Points to Higher Rank: 51
Set Listing   Gallery   Slideshow       History  

Set Description:

Ecuador began adopting a decimal coinage system in 1874 with the minting of one and two centavo coins at the Mint in Birmingham, England. The transition was completed on March 22, 1884 with the creation of the silver sucre coin which was equivalent to 100 centavos. The sucre remained the official unit of currency in Ecuador for 116 years until the President of Ecuador announced on January 9, 2000 that the US dollar would be adopted as Ecuador's official currency.

Ecuadorian President Isidro Ayora introduced a new monetary system in 1927 based on a reduced size, weight, and fineness sucre. In 1928, the country had the U.S. mint produce seven different denominations ranging from one centavo to two sucres. A gold Condor, (equivalent to 25 sucres) was also minted by the Birmingham mint making a total of eight different denominations minted for that year. The new sucre was nicknamed the "Ayora" after the President. Likewise, the new silver 50 centavos coin became known as the "Lauritas" after his wife Laura.

The coins in this set represent the three silver sucres out of the four different dates struck for Ecuador by the U.S. mint. The fourth was of a similar design struck in copper nickel in 1946.

* Seppa, Dale and Anderson, Michael, the COINS of ECUADOR (second edition), Almanzar's Coins of the World, San Antonio, 1973.

Rev. 9/25/2017
 Slot DescriptionGradeServiceScore
View Coin 1928 MS 65 NGC 123
Shop Similar
View Coin 1930 MS 64 NGC 241
Shop Similar
View Coin 1934 MS 65 NGC 123
Shop Similar

All Coins/Scores

To follow or send a message to this user,
please log in