NGC Registry Updated NGC Registry

The Hyde Park Collection - Great Britain George V Sovereigns 1911-1925 (Private)

Set Type: Sovereign, George V, 1911-1925, Circulation Issue
Owner: Zebo
Last Modified: 1/5/2018
Views: 294

Score: 9896
Leading by: 1095
Points to Higher Rank: 1051
Set Listing            

Set Description:

The Reign of King George V (1910-1936) - House of Windsor

George V Great Britain Sovereigns minted from 1911 through 1917 and then again in 1925.

The 1917 sovereign is the key date and the rarest of the Great Britain Sovereigns. The vast majority were melted as they were used for payment to the United States and to a lessor degree other countries for war debt.

King George V, appearing to not be worthwile was second son of Edward VII. Initially, due to the untimely death of his brother, Albert, George was placed on the throne. He became king in 1910 and played an active role supporting the troops during World War I. Though lackluster in personality, he won the loyalty of the middle class and many in Great Britain with his steadfast dedication to his country.

On May 6, 1910, Edward VII died. George became king and immediately faced a constitutional crisis, known as the budget controversy of 1910. In an unprecedented move, Tories in the House of Lords rejected the budget proposed by Liberals in the House of Commons. George V threatened to create enough Liberal nobles in the House of Lords to pass the measure, and the Tories gave in. George V’s threat foretold future actions where he would support the middle class over the gentry.

The reign of George V saw many changes within the British Empire. Rebellion in Ireland in 1916 resulted in an independent Irish parliament and later a geographic division along religious lines. The post–World War I period also brought change to the empire itself as Canada, New Zealand, Australia and South Africa demanded and received the right of self-governance and formed the Commonwealth of Nations in 1931. India followed, achieving some degree of self-determinism in 1935.

King George V became a popular king that cultivated good relationships with the Labour Party and unions during the economic depression of the 1930s. While he lacked intellectual curiosity and sophistication, he was hardworking, deeply devoted to Great Britain and widely admired by the British people.

A Brief History of the British Gold Sovereign

First introduced by King Henry VII in 1489, the denomination was current throughout the hand- struck hammered Tudor and Stuart periods. The denomination was also later called the Pound, Unite, Laurel, and the gold Guinea. It was the need for a reformation of the Coinage Act in 1816 that led to the introduction of the Modern Gold Sovereign.

During the latter part of Queen Victoria’s reign (1837-1901), the Royal branch mints began to open in the Colonial Empire. These included Sydney (1855-1926), Melbourne (1872-1931) and Perth (1899-1931) in Australia; Ottawa (1908-1919) in Canada; Bombay in India (1918), and Pretoria in South Africa (1923-1932).

In 1871 there was a revival of the Pistrucci St. George and the dragon reverse on the Sovereign. The Royal Mint Council was authorised to revive the St George reverse issued design on 14 January 1871. The St. George reverse was produced concurrently with the shield reverse at the London Mint from 1871 until 1874. The Queen wanted it that way. The St. George reverse was issued in London along with the Colonial Branch Mints in Australia, at Sydney starting in 1871, Melbourne 1872, Perth 1899, Ottawa 1908, India 1918, and Pretoria 1923. The mints did not produced sovereigns in every year while they were in operation.

The sovereign was named because the obverse design depicted the King enthroned in regal splendour. It was the first gold coin produced in England. The modern sovereign is 22 carat gold and has a diameter of 22.05mm, a thickness of 1.52mm, and a weighs 7.988 g.

The Kings and Queens of the modern day sovereign

The Reign of King George III (1760-1820) - House of Hanover

The Reign of King George IV (1820-1830) - House of Hanover

The Reign of King William IV (1830-1837) - House of Hanover

The Reign of Queen Victoria (1837-1901) - House of Hanover

The Reign of King Edward VII (1901-1910) - House of Saxe-Coburg and Gotha

The Reign of King George V (1910-1936) - House of Windsor

The Reign of King George VI (1936-1952) - House of Windsor

The Reign of Queen Elizabeth II (1952- ) - House of Windsor

Census population updated 11/5/2017

Click on the icon to see the World Coin Price Guide.

Sorry, the details of this set are not available at this time.

All Coins/Scores

To follow or send a message to this user,
please log in