NGC Registry Updated NGC Registry

The Hyde Park Collection - Canadian Edward VII and George V Sovereigns 1908-1919

Category: Canada
Set Type: Gold Sovereign, 1908-1919, Circulation Issue
Owner: Zebo
Last Modified: 8/21/2020
Views: 402

Rank: 3
Score: 9593
Leading by: 46
Points to Higher Rank: 410
Set Listing   Gallery   Slideshow       History  

Set Description:

The Reign of King Edward VII (1901-1910) - House of Saxe-Coburg and Gotha

The Reign of King George V (1910-1936) - House of Windsor

Canadian Sovereigns Minted
1908-1910 Edward VII
1911-1919 George V

*Canadian Mint did not produce Sovereigns in 1912 and 1915.

The Ottawa, Canada Mint

The Klondike Gold Rush of 1897-1898 saw more than 25,000 people seek their fortune in the frozen North of Canada. For some time all of Canada’s coinage was struck in England but the new gold strikes made this impractical.

Following the discovery of gold deposits in the Yukon in 1900, the Canadian Government requested a right to coin the gold into Sovereigns. The new mint would have to be a Branch of the Royal Mint and in 1901 the Canadian House of Commons allowed funding for a branch at Ottawa and Royal assent was received. The building did not actually start until 1905 and took nearly three years, opening 2 January 1908. Production from then onwards was sporadic at best, until an end in 1919 with less than one million gold Sovereigns struck in total and no half-sovereigns. The Branch Mint status was retained until the last year that British Imperial Sovereigns were struck in Australia in 1931, when it became the Royal Canadian Mint in its own right. The total output of gold Sovereigns issued in the entire period was a mere 627,834 pieces; miniscule compared to Australian branch mints.

Census population updated 11/5/2017

All Coins/Scores

To follow or send a message to this user,
please log in